CSK and RCB Set to Clash in IPL 2024 Opener on March 22: Initial 21-Match Schedule Unveiled.

CRICKET UPDATE  > CRICKET >  CSK and RCB Set to Clash in IPL 2024 Opener on March 22: Initial 21-Match Schedule Unveiled.
CSK and RCB Set to Clash in IPL 2024 Opener on March 22: Initial 21-Match Schedule Unveiled.

The excitement for IPL 2024 is set to kick off with defending champions Chennai Super Kings hosting Royal Challengers Bangalore in the tournament opener on March 22 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has released the initial schedule, encompassing the first 21 matches, scheduled from March 22 to April 7.

Partial Schedule and Election-Related Delays:

As the dates for India’s general elections are yet to be announced, the BCCI opted to release the schedule for the first leg of the tournament. The complete schedule will be revealed post the announcement of the election dates, expected to take place in April and May.

Key Matches in the Initial 21:

The initial matches promise intense cricketing action, with clashes such as Punjab Kings vs. Delhi Capitals, Kolkata Knight Riders vs. Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Rajasthan Royals vs. Lucknow Super Giants among others. The opening match at 8 pm IST on March 22 will set the stage for a thrilling tournament, with subsequent games following the usual timings of 7.30 pm IST for evening fixtures and 3.30 pm IST for double-header days.

IPL 2024 schedule – March 22 to April 7

  • March 22 – CSK vs RCB in Chennai
  • March 23 – PBKS vs DC in Mullanpur
  • March 23 – KKR vs SRH in Kolkata
  • March 24 – RR vs LSG in Jaipur
  • March 24 – GT vs MI in Ahmedabad
  • March 25 – RCB vs PBKS in Bengaluru
  • March 26 – CSK vs GT in Chennai
  • March 27 – SRH vs MI in Hyderabad
  • March 28 – RR vs DC in Jaipur
  • March 29 – RCB vs KKR in Bengaluru
  • March 30 – LSG vs PBKS in Lucknow
  • March 31 – GT vs SRH in Ahmedabad
  • March 31 – DC vs CSK in Visakhapatnam
  • April 1 – MI vs RR in Mumbai
  • April 2 – RCB vs LSG in Bengaluru
  • April 3 – DC vs KKR in Visakhapatnam
  • April 4 – GT vs PBKS in Ahmedabad
  • April 5 – SRH vs CSK in Hyderabad
  • April 6 – RR vs RCB in Jaipur
  • April 7 – MI vs DC in Mumbai
  • April 7 – LSG vs GT in Lucknow

Double-Headers and Team Schedules:

The schedule includes four double-headers, with the first weekend featuring matches like Punjab Kings vs. Delhi Capitals and Kolkata Knight Riders vs. Sunrisers Hyderabad. Teams like Punjab Kings and Gujarat Titans will be playing back-to-back matches with only a day’s break, adding to the intensity of the competition. Delhi Capitals will play their initial two matches in Visakhapatnam due to preparations for the Women’s Premier League final.

Noteworthy Player Returns:

The tournament opener marks MS Dhoni’s return to action as he leads Chennai Super Kings. Dhoni, who underwent knee surgery post the previous season’s title win, is set to make a comeback. Additionally, Hardik Pandya returns to Mumbai Indians as captain after two seasons with Gujarat Titans. Rishabh Pant is also expected to make a comeback to competitive cricket after recovering from a serious car accident in December 2022.

Unique Venue Choices and Overall Fixture Details:

Punjab Kings will play their home games at a new venue in Mullanpur on the outskirts of Chandigarh. The schedule indicates that Capitals, Titans, and RCB will play five of their 14 matches during this initial 17-day window, with KKR playing three matches. In total, 74 games, including four playoff matches, are slated for the IPL 2024 season.

Cricket enthusiasts can gear up for a thrilling start to the tournament as CSK and RCB set the stage for what promises to be an action-packed IPL season. Stay tuned for further updates on the schedule as election dates are announced, shaping the remainder of the tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *